atypical Saturday

Danassala

Danassala

That there’s my dear old Djembe. As you can see she is a bit the worse for wear… yet somehow still manages to sound quite good.

The other night while I was up painting, the neighbours came over to invite me to a Hindu Goddess shindig. A couple of years ago after they’d first moved in there, we were sitting around discussing some images they had on the walls. Hindu can be a *very* broad church, you see. They also asked about my beliefs. I wasn’t sure how the whole “witch” deal would go down, and they’d read Dan Brown so I simply said I was a Goddess worshipper which was very true. It seemed to be something we had very much in common, a respect for the earth and the feminine principle of fertility and generosity. Which isn’t to say there isn’t a male fertility and generosity, but that’s simply not what we were tuned in to at the time.

Anyways, when they came over the other night, Punja made a point of emphasising that it was all about the Goddess and being very grateful for their new home and the blessings of life in general. It might have been mainly one of those “invite the neighbours so they won’t call the cops on you” deals, but when asked about drumming they said yes there would be drumming and I was most welcome to bring mine.

Saturday day I’d been down to catch up with all my witchy girls and everyone was commenting on my brilliant energy. Thanks very much to a French Shaman who’s been doing a bit of work on me. Amazing work, I must add! Something that could have and should have been fixed years ago, but who else would have known how to do it? Considering all the prayers and blessings and healings I’ve had from many and various sources over the years, some of whom thought they were absolutely the wasp’s nipples but did bugger all but make a lot of noise.

The chief high scary fairy asked what was going on. I told her I’d found a God. Heh. She laughed.
“Such a difference since when you first came. You would have castrated any God who came within coo-ee of you.” LOL
“With a rusty razor blade” I replied. They were all raised eyebrows to hear that it was Odin who’d reached in to turn things around. Yes, it is the frame that everything needed and it is obviously working very well.

It was a great catch up. We were all talked out by mid afternoon and I was feeling quite satisfied. The Saturday evening event was in the back of my mind, but since it seemed quiet I wasn’t sure what was happening and didn’t want to barge in. Over the last few weeks and particularly over Beltaine I’ve had a very transitional energy going on and lots of changes. There were a couple of events I was invited to and missed out on because my energy wouldn’t have contributed to the group. It was very disappointing to miss a highlight like Beltaine. In addition I was feeling peeved after falling out with a big wig in the nearest Asatru Garth and am probably uninvited to any of their stuff, which left me feeling very high and dry. The invitation was a welcome surprise and in one way a real indicator of the forces that are at work in my life at the moment. So despite my uncertainty, it was an invitation I could not refuse.

At about 10.30 I eventually decided to go and find out what was happening. Turns out they were all up the back of the house, drumming and singing away before a beautiful red and gold decked shrine of the Goddess Amba. It was magnificent. She is dressed beautifully, with eight arms holding all sorts of things including weapons, and riding a tiger. There were all manner of offerings laid out before her, a halved coconut, large trays piled high with fruit, sweets and other lovely things. The only thing I could think of to bring was some coriander from the garden and incense, which were well recieved. The energy of the celebration was deeply impressive, almost tangible. The nearest link I can find presently is for Durga. Hope to have some more pics of the night shortly.

For some time I hung around down the back of the crowd. LOL A few dozen Indian folks and one Eastern Asian looking woman and I was the only white chick in the place. And man, have I never felt so white! Haha. :-) They were all dressed beautifully too. It was really impressive how pretty they all were. Really pretty, men and women, young and old both. Must be like walking onto a Bollywood set with all the colours and jewellery. Crowds of people, sweat and perfume, and you’re in the midst of it all. Goddess warmth.

The welcome was memorable. No one looked twice really, except to smile at me. No one questioned why I was there or what I thought I was doing. No one bothered that I wasn’t of the “right” race to be attending to the Goddess. No one asked about my efforts in the Hindu faith to be welcomed into the ceremony. To be honest, their hospitality rather put me to shame. And most of all there were no strings. No expectation of conversion or other demonstration… I was there to contribute to the worship and that was all good. Heh. In a way with the mix we were having a serious Indo-European devotion. :D

The musicians were quite good and since I haven’t played for a while, and certainly not anything Indian, I hung back despite the hostess wanting to drag me up in front of everyone and introduce me. Eventually she had her way and it all fell into place surprisingly well. The drummer offered an idea where to start. He said “1… 2… 3… 4…” Hehe. :D In Indian drumming it isn’t so straightforward. Eastern drummers can use all sorts of strange signatures that our westernised ears don’t pick up well if we’ve grown up on top 40 radio. Fortunately I haven’t ;-)

Anyways, it was sink or swim, so I picked a simple line from what he started with and away we went. And it flew! At the end of the first track I was feeling quite a bit more confident. He gave me a thumbs up. What he actually said was “You play very well and I can really use the support.” Wow. So, that’s how we played. I nailed down the rhythm and he went off. They had said they expected it to go till around midnight. Needless to say we were still going well after 1.

It’s incredible how drumming can carry you away. Early on before joining in playing, simply rocking and clapping in time to the music with everyone else, I had a vision of her… She was laughing, smiling at me. Quite happy to acknowledge that I was there yet not “one of hers” so to speak. She actually said to me that Frigga wanted me, and laughing, reached out and touched my head where the bindi would be. I wasn’t in the same devotional bag as everyone else there, but it didn’t matter since I was there to participate and it was very much considered A. Good. Thing.

At the end of the night there was dinner and the offerings from the altar were divided up and distributed amongst the attendants. It was explained to me as sharing in the blessings of the Goddess. That was neat to participate in that. Whether she be known by a Hindu name or in a different manifestation as Freya, Nerthus, Gaia or even simply Earth Mother, it’s a spirit worth acknowledging. For some time I’ve been on and on about participating respectfully in the life of the planet, and this was another iteration of that idea. A very enjoyable one, too. Might have to head up to the Sri Durga temple up the road some time and drum with them. Until enough mad Heathens turn up around here to form a drumming circle.

The Gods and Goddesses of the ancient pantheons still surprise me how open they can be. No doubt not every one would be in the same frame of mind as Amba, but things are very different to the crawling, rules and distance that I’d grown up with. And things are happening.

Well, I’ve hardly had any sleep and as you can tell my mind is going a million miles an hour. LOL Things will probably be a bit wild for a little while, as that repairing the Shaman did takes effect…

Whew. Heh. How good is this!! And what a change from the last few months. I really do need some sleep ;-)